The Meaning of Marriage

meaning of marriage

Format: Ebook

Source: Purchase

Rating: 3

Marriage is a lot of work.  Good marriages and bad marriage both require a lot of work.  Living with someone who sees a side of you that most people do not, can be difficult.  The Keller’s book discusses marriage from a biblical standpoint.

A few quotes from the book that I thought were pretty good:

“Why should neurotic, selfish, immature people suddenly become angels when the fall in love” – Denis de Rougemont ~Love in the western world

Keller talks about being serviced “I didn’t want to be in the position where I had to ask for something and receive it as a gift.” … “Finally I began to see. I wanted to serve,  yes because that made me feel in control.Then I would always have the high moral ground.  But that kind of “service” isn’t  service at all, only manipulation. ” This really hit home with me, because I find myself quite independent and I do not let my wife service me  “Reluctance to let Kathy serve me was, in the end, a refusal to live my life on the basis of grace.  I wanted to earn everything. I wanted no one to give me any favors.”

“To be known and not loved is our greatest fear. But to be fully known and truly love is, well, a lot like being loved by God.  It is what we need more than anything.”  Throughout the book, Keller brings out how Marriage is the closest relationship we can have on earth that is similar to our relationship with God.  Our spouse sees almost all of us, and God sees all of us.

” Actions of love can lead to feelings of love.” Not really a fake it until you make it, but more like doing to the work of the feeling can lead to the feeling itself.

“No other human being should get more of your love, energy, industry, and commitment than your spouse”

This book has some great quotes here and there, but I found it to be wordy and somewhat confusing.  I think it was written more for a single crowd, and Keller was trying to give a solid biblical understanding of marriage.

Leave a comment